Columbia International Affairs Online: Books

New York Academy of Sciences


Founded in 1817, the New York Academy of Sciences is the third oldest scientific organization in America and one of New York City's oldest and most enduring cultural institutions. The Academy is an independent, nonprofit organization with nearly 50,000 members in more than 160 countries united by a commitment to promoting science and technology and their essential roles in fostering social and economic development.

In service to science, the Academy facilitates communication among scientists, physicians, policy makers, government officers, educators, and journalists from around the world through its interdisciplinary conferences and section meetings and diverse publications. In service to society, Academy Programs draw upon the foremost experts and the most current information about advances in science and technology to inform analysis and discussion of public policy issues, to promote precollege education, and to foster the human rights of scientists.

Additional Materials from New York Academy of Sciences: Working Papers


Title: Science Technology and the Economic Future
Authors: John F. Ahearne, Robert B. Bell, Mark Bohannon, Daniel Burton, Joel E. Cohen, Kenneth W. Dam, Stephen M. Drezner, Robert W. Galvin, John H. Gibbons, F. William Hawley, Stephen A. Herzenberg, Shelley Lau, William J. McDonough, Robert K. Morris, J. Ian Morrison, Rodney W. Nichols, Michel Oksenberg, Thomas R. Pickering, Arati Prabhakar, Susan Raymond, Walter I. Rickard, Jon Roush, Mark Schaefer, William J Spencer, Robert Stempel, Donald E. Stokes, James A. Thomson, Jane Wales, Robert S. Walker, Victor Wouk
Date: February 1998

Title: Science-Based Economic Development
Authors: Titus Adeboye, Eliene. Augenbraun, Richard Bendis, Lewis M. Branscomb, Warren C. Bull, Nancy Carson, Micheal Chege, Babasola Chinsman, Richard S. Combes, John Desmond, P.J. D. Drenth, Susan Engelking, Ewa Gajeska-Blaisedell, Grace Goodell, Victoria Hamilton, Stephen D. Huntington, Soodursun Jugessur, Ousman Kane, Geraldine A. Kenney-Wallace, Robert M. Kidd, Young Gul Kim, Rustam Lalkaka, W. Henry Lambright, Alister McIntyre, Walter H. Plosila, Susan Raymond, Janie Rutherford, Michael A. Salvato, William J. Todd, Charles R. Warren, Anders Wijkman, J. Trent Williams
Date: December 1996