About the Commission

In the summer of 2001, the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) formed the Commission on Transatlantic Security and Industrial Cooperation in the Twenty-first Century as a joint U.S.-European initiative aimed at identifying practical recommendations for an agenda of action involving both governments and industry in the United States and Europe.

Cochaired by Jean-Paul Béchat, chairman and CEO of SNECMA (Société Nationale d'Etude et de Construction de Moteurs d'Aviation) and president (2001–2002) of the European Association of Aerospace Industries (AECMA), and former U.S. ambassador to France Felix Rohatyn, this commission consisted of senior business leaders and former policymakers from both sides of the Atlantic. The commission's work was assisted by an experts group composed of several representatives from the private and public sectors and academia.

The commission has endorsed two documents: a Declaration of Common Objectives (pages vii–viii), which was adopted at the commission's meeting held on April 2, 2002, in Paris, and an Agenda for Action (pages ix–xii). The report on the future of the transatlantic defense community (pages 1–56) offers the broader analytical background to the commission's work, conclusions, and recommendations. The general thrust of this analysis has also been endorsed by the commission. Preparation relied on the contributions of many of the individuals, including input that resulted from the commission's meeting of April 2, 2002, the various working sessions involving the experts group, select corporate case studies provided by both U.S. and European companies, as well as the numerous informal contributions offered during different phases of the project.

Commission Cochairs

Jean-Paul Béchat Felix G. Rohatyn

Commission Members

Daniel P. Burnham Philippe Camus Vance D. Coffman William S. Cohen Philip M. Condit Henri Conze George A. David Werner Dornisch

Experts Group Members

Gordon Adams Pierre Bétin Jeffrey P. Bialos Hans Binnendijk Barry M. Blechman Kees Blekxtoon James M. Bodner Robert F. Bott Lawrence J. Cavaiola Francis M. Cevasco Pierre Chao Thomas Culligan

Project Director

Simon Serfaty

Principal Authors

Gordon Adams Francis M. Cevasco

Consultants

Barry M. Blechman Arnold Kanter

Contributing Authors

Cathleen Fisher Christina Balis

- Henry J. Driesse Pier Francesco Guarguaglini Charles Guthrie Bengt Halse John J. Hamre Rainer Hertrich Paul Kaminski John C. Kornblum
- Alberto De Benedictis Thomas Duesterberg Robert F. Fitch Paul Freedenberg John J. Hamre, *chairman* Ruth R. Harkin Sven Olof Hokborg Philippe Humbert Joel L. Johnson Arnold Kanter Franklin D. Kramer Robin Niblett

Jacques Lanxade Klaus Naumann Bernard Rétat John E. V. Rose Brent Scowcroft Michael Turner

David R. Oliver Franklin Parker Kendell Pease Stephen W. Preston William A. Reinsch William Schneider Adam S. Siegel Robert H. Trice Manfred Von Nordheim Michael Worley